BJP Retains Power in Tripura and Nagaland Assembly Elections 2023


The Assembly Election Results 2023 were announced on Sunday, with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) retaining power in both Tripura and Nagaland. The BJP won 38 seats out of 60 in Tripura and 24 seats out of 60 in Nagaland. The party’s main rival, the Congress, managed to win only 10 seats in Tripura and 16 seats in Nagaland.

The BJP’s victory in Tripura is significant as the party had come to power in the state for the first time in 2018, ending the Left Front’s 25-year-long rule. The party’s success in retaining power in the state indicates that it has been able to maintain its support base in the state despite facing criticism over issues such as the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) and the National Register of Citizens (NRC).

In Nagaland, the BJP has been in power since 2018 in alliance with the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP). The alliance managed to secure a comfortable majority in the assembly elections, with the NDPP winning 15 seats. The BJP’s victory in Nagaland is also significant as the state is one of the few in the region where the party has been able to make significant inroads.

The BJP’s victory in the two states is a boost for the party ahead of the upcoming assembly elections in other northeastern states such as Meghalaya and Mizoram. The party has been focusing on expanding its footprint in the region, which has traditionally been dominated by regional parties such as the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and the Mizo National Front (MNF).

The Congress, on the other hand, has suffered a setback in the elections. The party, which was hoping to make gains in both Tripura and Nagaland, was unable to do so. The party’s poor performance in the elections is likely to raise questions about its ability to take on the BJP in the region.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here