Congress Approves First List of Ministers for Karnataka Government Following Electoral Victory


The Congress party, following its impressive electoral victory in Karnataka, has finalized the first list of eight Cabinet Ministers for the state government. The announcement comes after a week of chaos and deliberation over the selection of top positions. Party president Mallikarjun Kharge approved the list, and the newly appointed ministers were sworn in today.

The Congress party faces the challenge of forming a balanced cabinet that represents all communities, regions, factions, and generations of legislators. The chosen ministers aim to achieve diversity in their representation. The newly appointed ministers include G Parameshwara (SC), KH Muniyappa (SC), KJ George (Minority-Christian), MB Patil (Lingayat), Satish Jarkiholi (ST-Valmiki), Priyank Kharge (SC), Ramalinga Reddy (Reddy), and BZ Zameer Ahmed Khan (Minority-Muslim). Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and Deputy Chief Minister DK Shivakumar, who will also continue as the state party chief, were sworn in alongside the ministers.

G Parameshwara, a former Deputy Chief Minister and state Home Minister, is the face of the party representing the SC (right) community in South Karnataka. KH Muniyappa, a seven-time MP and former Union Minister, is a prominent SC (left) leader within the party. Priyank Kharge, son of AICC President Mallikarjun Kharge, is a three-time MLA and a key SC (right) figure. Satish Jarkiholi, belonging to the influential Jharkhioli family in Belagavi, represents the ST community. Ramalinga Reddy, an eight-time MLA from Bengaluru, is a significant city leader for the party. KJ George, a former state Home Minister, holds importance as a minority face within the party. BZ Zameer Ahmed Khan, known for his proximity to Mr. Siddaramaiah, represents another minority community in Bengaluru. MB Patil, the Campaign Committee Chief, represents the Lingayat community and hails from the Mumbai Karnataka region.

Mallikarjun Kharge expressed his delight at the new Congress government coming to power in Karnataka and announced his presence at the swearing-in ceremony. The event took place at Sree Kanteerava Stadium in Bengaluru, with Governor Thaawarchand Gehlot administering the oath of office and secrecy to the Chief Minister, ministers, and Deputy Chief Minister. Siddaramaiah had previously taken oath at the same venue in 2013 when he became Chief Minister for the first time.

The ceremony was not only significant for the Congress party but also served as a show of strength for opposition parties. Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge extended invitations to leaders of several like-minded parties, emphasizing unity efforts in preparation for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, where they aim to challenge the ruling BJP.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here