HDFC Bank’s Sashidhar Jagdishan is ‘BS Banker of the Year 2022’


Sashidhar Jagdishan, CEO of HDFC Bank, has been named ‘BS Banker of the Year 2022’ by Business Standard, one of India’s leading business newspapers. The award recognizes Jagdishan’s outstanding contribution to the banking industry and his leadership in navigating the challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Jagdishan took over as the CEO of HDFC Bank in October 2020, succeeding Aditya Puri, who had led the bank for over two decades. Jagdishan has over 30 years of experience in the banking industry and has been with HDFC Bank since its inception in 1994.

Under Jagdishan’s leadership, HDFC Bank has continued to grow and expand its presence in India. The bank has a strong focus on digital innovation and has launched several new products and services to cater to the changing needs of its customers.

One of the key challenges faced by Jagdishan in 2021 was the COVID-19 pandemic, which disrupted the banking industry and forced banks to adopt new ways of working. HDFC Bank responded to the crisis by ramping up its digital capabilities and offering customers a range of digital banking services.

Jagdishan was instrumental in launching ‘Shaurya KGC Card,’ a first-of-its-kind credit card for Indian armed forces personnel. The card offers various benefits such as higher credit limits, lower interest rates, and exclusive offers on various products and services.

In addition to his work at HDFC Bank, Jagdishan is also involved in several initiatives aimed at promoting financial inclusion and digital literacy in India. He serves on the board of the National Payments Corporation of India (NPCI) and is a member of the Confederation of Indian Industry’s National Committee on Banking.

On receiving the ‘BS Banker of the Year 2022’ award, Jagdishan said, “I am truly honored and humbled to receive this award. This is a recognition of the collective effort of the entire HDFC Bank team in serving our customers during these challenging times. We remain committed to leveraging technology and innovation to enhance the banking experience of our customers.”

The ‘BS Banker of the Year’ award has been conferred on several leading bankers in India over the years, including Aditya Puri, Chanda Kochhar, and Rana Kapoor. The award is considered one of the most prestigious awards in the Indian banking industry.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here