Indian Cricket Team Gears Up to Face Australia in World Test Championship Final; ICC Announces Match Officials


The stage is set for an epic clash as the Indian Cricket Team prepares to take on the mighty Australian side in the final of the World Test Championship 2023. Having reached the finals for the second consecutive time, Rohit Sharma’s men are determined to bring home the coveted mace and etch their names in cricketing history.

In a recent development, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the match officials for this marquee Test match. Five officials, including on-field umpires, have been appointed to ensure a fair and smooth contest. Chris Gaffaney from New Zealand and Richard Illingworth from England have been named as the on-field umpires, entrusted with the crucial task of making accurate decisions during the game. England’s Richard Kettleborough will serve as the TV umpire, while Sri Lanka’s Kumar Dharmasena has been designated as the fourth umpire. West Indies’ Richie Richardson will take on the responsibility of being the match referee, overseeing the conduct of the game.

While the Indian Premier League (IPL)-bound players are still in India, the duty-free cricketers have already traveled to England, preparing themselves for the upcoming battle. The first batch of Indian players, including the likes of Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Axar Patel, Virat Kohli, and Ravichandran Ashwin, have joined their teammates in the UK. Recently, Indian captain Rohit Sharma, along with Ishan Kishan and stand-in player Yashasvi Jaiswal, departed for England, reinforcing the team’s strength.

It is worth mentioning that Cheteshwar Pujara is already in England, having featured in County Cricket and gaining valuable experience on English soil. However, some Indian players are yet to arrive in England. Shubman Gill, Mohammed Shami, K S Bharat, Ravindra Jadeja, and Ajinkya Rahane are currently in India and are part of the squads for either the Gujarat Titans or the Chennai Super Kings in the ongoing domestic tournaments.

The squads for both teams have been announced, with India fielding a formidable lineup led by Rohit Sharma. The squad includes stalwarts like Ravichandran Ashwin, Virat Kohli, Cheteshwar Pujara, and Ajinkya Rahane, among others. Australia, captained by Pat Cummins, boasts a strong team comprising the likes of Steve Smith, David Warner, Marnus Labuschagne, and Mitchell Starc.

As the much-anticipated final approaches, both teams are leaving no stone unturned in their preparations. With a blend of experienced campaigners and promising talents, the Indian team aims to showcase their mettle and emerge victorious in the ultimate test of skill and character. Cricket enthusiasts around the world eagerly await this clash of cricketing giants, hoping for a thrilling contest that will be remembered for years to come.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here