Mark Zahra: The Crowned Champion of Australian Racing


Mark Zahra is an Australian jockey who is notable for having won the Melbourne Cup on Without a Fight in 2023 and on Gold Trip in 2022, as well as the Caulfield Cup on Without A Fight in 2023 and on Verry Elleegant in 2020.

Zahra was born in Perth, Western Australia, in 1978. He began riding horses at a young age and quickly developed a reputation as a talented jockey. Zahra rode his first raceday ride on Wail Spring on Boxing Day 1988 at Geraldton Racecourse. He won his first race at the same track on 1 March 1989 on Winrosy.

Zahra moved to Melbourne in 1998 to further his career. He quickly established himself as one of the leading jockeys in Victoria, winning his first Group 1 race on Above Deck in the 2006 Doomben Cup. Zahra has since won over 1,000 races, including 28 Group 1 races.

Zahra is known for his strong riding skills and his ability to get the best out of his horses. He is also a popular figure among fans and is known for his outgoing personality.

Career Highlights

  • Melbourne Cup winner (2023, 2022)
  • Caulfield Cup winner (2023, 2020)
  • Doomben Cup winner (2006)
  • Cox Plate winner (2017)
  • Golden Slipper winner (2009)
  • Australian Derby winner (2009)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here