Supreme Court to Hear Plea Seeking President’s Inauguration of New Parliament Building


The Supreme Court is set to hear a plea requesting the inauguration of the new Parliament building by President Droupadi Murmu on Friday. The plea, filed by advocate Jaya Sukin, argues that the Lok Sabha secretariat’s statement and invitations issued by the secretary general of Lok Sabha for the inauguration violate the Constitution. Highlighting the president’s role as the first citizen of India and the head of the institution of Parliament, the plea emphasizes the need for the president to inaugurate the new Parliament building. The current plan is for Prime Minister Modi to inaugurate the building on May 28, following an invitation from the Lok Sabha Speaker. The plea points out that according to the Constitution, Parliament comprises the President of India, the Rajya Sabha, and the Lok Sabha. It further cites Article 87, which states that at the beginning of each parliamentary session, the President should address both houses and inform Parliament of the reasons for its summons.

The plea argues that by not inviting President Droupadi Murmu to the inauguration, the respondents—the Lok Sabha secretariat and the Union of India—are attempting to “humiliate” the President. The opposition parties, including Congress, Left, TMC, SP, and AAP, have criticized the Prime Minister’s decision to inaugurate the new Parliament building and have announced their boycott of the ceremony. In contrast, 25 parties are expected to attend the event, including seven non-NDA parties—BSP, Shiromani Akali Dal, Janata Dal (Secular), Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas), YSR Congress, BJD, and TDP. Their participation is seen as a relief for the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance and an opportunity to counter the opposition’s claim that the inauguration is solely a government event.

The presence of these seven parties, representing 50 MPs in the Lok Sabha, is expected to strengthen the NDA’s position. In addition to the BJP, the 18 NDA members include parties like Shiv Sena, National People’s Party, Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party, Sikkim Krantikari Morcha, Jannayak Janata Party, AIADMK, IMKMK, AJSU, RPI, Mizo National Front, Tamil Maanila Congress, ITFT (Tripura), Bodo People’s Party, Pattali Makkal Kacchi, MGP, Apna Dal, and AGP, as confirmed by alliance leaders.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here