Tata Group Named Title Sponsor for Women’s Premier League Through 2027


The Tata Group, one of India’s largest conglomerates, has secured the title sponsorship rights for the Women’s Premier League (WPL) for the next six years, through 2027. The deal marks a significant step forward for women’s sports in India and is part of the Tata Group’s ongoing commitment to promoting gender equality and empowerment.

The WPL is India’s premier women’s cricket league, launched by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2019. The league aims to provide a platform for talented female cricketers to showcase their skills and compete at the highest level.

The Tata Group’s sponsorship deal will see the WPL rebranded as the “Tata WPL” and will provide a significant boost to the league’s profile and visibility. The sponsorship deal will also provide crucial financial support for the league, enabling it to invest in player development and infrastructure.

In a statement announcing the sponsorship deal, Natarajan Chandrasekaran, Chairman of Tata Sons, said, “We are delighted to partner with the BCCI to promote and support women’s cricket in India. The Tata Group has a long-standing commitment to gender equality and empowerment, and we see the Tata WPL as an important step in advancing that goal.”

The WPL has already made a significant impact in its first two seasons, attracting top talent from around the country and providing a platform for the development of women’s cricket in India. The league has also helped to raise the profile of women’s sports in India, inspiring young girls to take up the sport and pursue their dreams.

The sponsorship deal with the Tata Group is expected to further enhance the league’s impact and bring in new audiences to women’s cricket. The Tata Group’s extensive reach and brand recognition will help to raise the profile of the league and promote the growth of women’s sports in India.

The Tata Group has a long history of supporting sports in India and has been a major sponsor of cricket in the country for many years. The group has previously sponsored the Indian Premier League (IPL) and the Indian Super League (ISL), among other sports properties.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here